Map of the Garden Route, highlighting the main destinations, attractions, and activities.

Garden Route Map

The Garden Route is a scenic coastal drive in South Africa that spans approximately 300 kilometers along the southern coast of the country. The following are some of the main towns and destinations along the Garden Route:

  1. Mossel Bay: A coastal town known for its beautiful beaches and historical landmarks, including the Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex.

  2. George: A large town that serves as the hub of the Garden Route and is known for its golf courses and shopping.

  3. Knysna: A popular tourist destination known for its stunning lagoon, forests, and oyster industry.

  4. Plettenberg Bay: A scenic coastal town known for its beaches, whale-watching, and adventure sports.

  5. Nature's Valley: A small village surrounded by lush forests and scenic beaches, and a popular starting point for hikes in the Tsitsikamma National Park.

  6. Tsitsikamma National Park: A nature reserve that is home to indigenous forests, waterfalls, and hiking trails.

  7. Storms River: A small town surrounded by the Tsitsikamma National Park and famous for its suspension bridge, which offers stunning views of the surrounding landscape.

These are just a few of the many destinations along the Garden Route, each offering its own unique experiences and attractions.